Skip to main content

An Post issue ‘Great Irish Songs’ set

8 May 2019

Iconic songs and stars feature on special edition stamps.
Dublin 8/5/2019: An Post has issued four stamps featuring four internationally recognised songs, performed by renowned Irish artists.  The iconic Irish songs showcased on the stamps are both a celebration of Irish identity and a connection to Irish culture. 

Four-Great-Irish-Songs-(1).jpgThe set of four stamps underscore the richness of Irish musical heritage the songs’ origins ranging from 17th century musical airs, to rock music, poetry and folk ballads.  The songs featured on the stamps are ‘With our Without You’ by U2, ‘Danny Boy’ by Count John McCormack, ‘Dreams’ by the Cranberries and ‘On Raglan Road’ by Luke Kelly. Designed by AMP Visual, the stamps highlight lyrics from each song inset on an image of the performing artist.

‘With or Without You’ was composed and performed by U2, features on their multi-platinum album ‘The Joshua Tree’ and was released in March, 1987. ‘Danny Boy’ is drawn from the old Irish melody ‘Londonderry Air’ and was set to the lyrics of ‘Danny Boy’ by Frederic Weatherly in 1913.  ‘Dreams’ was written and composed by Dolores O’Riordan and Noel Hogan and originally performed by The Cranberries. First released in 1992, their debut single became a worldwide hit in 1994.  ‘On Raglan Road’ was inspired by the old Irish Air ‘The Dawning of the Day’, poet Patrick Kavanagh composed his melancholic poem of unrequited love for Hilda Moriarty.  Kavanagh gifted ‘On Raglan Road’ to the legendary ballad singer, Luke Kelly.

Speaking at the launch of the stamps in the GPO, Debbie Byrne, MD of An Post Retail said: “An Post acknowledges the cooperation of the many artists and their families, who we are representing on our Great Irish Songs stamps. The stamps are a celebration of creativity and of the power of song to tell important human stories, which are at once Irish and universal.  We know these beautiful stamps will be popular with fans of music all over the world.”

An Post will present the songs featured on the stamps in a special live performance in the GPO, curated by Other Voices.  The songs will be performed by an array of Irish musical and vocal talent including John Sheahan, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Glass House String Quartet, Declan O’Rourke, Wyvern Lingo, Jack O’Rourke, May Kay Geraghty and the Discovery Gospel Choir

The stamps are valid for both international (With or Without You and Danny Boy) and national (Dreams and On Raglan Road) postage.  An Post has also produced a limited edition set of four replica ‘7” single’ replica discs which is a perfect souvenir item for collectors and music fans.

The Great Irish Songs stamps are available at post offices nationwide, online at and at the GPO Philatelic Bureau (01 7057400).  A limited edition souvenir box set of the stamps is also available online at or at Dublin’s GPO, Philatelic Bureau.