Skip to main content

Stamp pair marks Treaty 100

2 December 2021

A pair of stamps issued by An Post today (Thursday) marks the centenary of the signing of the Treaty. The stamps are the latest in a series marking Ireland’s Decade of Centenaries.

The Treaty, also known as the Anglo-Irish Treaty, was signed in London on December 6, 1921 by a delegation mandated by Dáil Éireann and representatives of the British Government.  The signing of the Treaty was a momentous event opening the way to the establishment of the Irish Free State.
The stamps, and a commemorative First Day Cover (FDC) envelope, were designed by leading designer Ger Garland. The first features the signatures of the Irish Treaty delegates – Arthur Griffith (leader), Michael Collins, Robert Barton, Eamonn Duggan and George Gavan Duffy, and the British representatives – David Lloyd George (Prime Minister), Austen Chamberlain, Lord Birkenhead and Winston Churchill.  While the second is a poignant reproduction of Arthur Griffith’s aspirational message after the treaty signing.
A very collectable First Day Cover shows a photograph of the Irish delegation in London, courtesy of Mirrorpix.
The stamps and FDC are available at main post offices, also from the stamp counters at Dublin’s GPO or online at

You've exceeded the maximum login attempts
Your account has been locked for 30 minutes to prevent fraudulent activity
Your session has timed out
Would you like to log in again to continue?
Your An Post account is ready

But don't forget to verify your email address within the next 24 hours:

We would like to let you know about products, services and special offers from the An Post Group of Companies that we think may be of value to you. If you would like to receive these communications please tick the boxes below:

We have updated our terms of service