Skip to main content

An Post Irish Book Awards
2020 Winners

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award
  • A Light That Never Goes Out – Keelin Shanley (Gill Books)
Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year
  • Champagne Football – Mark Tighe & Paul Rowan (Sandycove)
 Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year
  • Neven Maguire’s Midweek Meals in Minutes – Neven Maguire (Gill Books)
 Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
  • After the Silence – Louise O’Neill (Quercus)
 Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year in association with The Business Post
  • A Ghost in the Throat – Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Tramp Press) Best Irish-Published Book of the Year
  • Old Ireland in Colour – John Breslin & Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley (Merrion Press)
 Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year
  • Cnámh – Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde (Éabhlóid)
 Dept51@Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year
  • Savage Her Reply – Deirdre Sullivan, illustrated by Karen Vaughan (Little Island Books)
 Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior
  • Break the Mould – Sinéad Burke, illustrated by Natalie Byrne (Hachette Children's Books – Imprint: Wren & Rook)
 Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior
  • The Great Irish Farm Book – Darragh McCullough, illustrated by Sally Caulwell (Gill Books)
 Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
  • Diary of a Young Naturalist – Dara McAnulty, illustrated by Barry Falls (Little Toller Books)
 National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
  • Home Stretch – Graham Norton (Coronet, Hodder & Stoughton)
 Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year
  • In the Museum of Misremembered Things – Linda McKenna (In the Museum of Misremembered Things published by Doire Press) Short Story of the Year Award
  • I Ate It All And I Really Thought I Wouldn’t – Caoilinn Hughes (LitHub)
 Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
  • Never Mind the Boll***s, Here’s the Science – Luke O’Neill (Gill Books)
 Eason Novel of the Year
  • Strange Flowers – Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland)
Tune into the An Post Irish Book of the Year TV Show on RTÉ One at 10:15pm on Thursday 10th December to find out the winner of the An Post Irish Book of the Year. 

You've exceeded the maximum login attempts
Your account has been locked for 30 minutes to prevent fraudulent activity
Your session has timed out
Would you like to log in again to continue?
Your An Post account is ready

We would like to let you know about products, services and special offers from the An Post Group of Companies that we think may be of value to you. If you would like to receive these communications please tick the boxes below:

We have updated our terms of service