Skip to main content

An Post Irish Book Awards

An Post has signed a three-year sponsorship agreement with the Irish Book Awards, heralding a new chapter in the history of one of Ireland’s most distinguished and popular literary events.

Now in its 13th year, the Irish Book Awards bring together the entire literary community from readers to authors and booksellers to publishers and librarians.

Hundreds of books are submitted for consideration annually and an array of new and established authors have graced the Irish Book Awards stage over the years including Sebastian Barry, Marian Keyes and Graham Norton.

#ReadersWanted is An Post's multi-channel campaign to excite and encourage new and existing readers to discover, read, share, and gift more great new books and promote the Irish Book Awards which are given across a range of categories including:
  • Novel of the year
  • Children's book
  • Cookery
  • Crime fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Poetry
  • Popular fiction
  • Sports
  • Short story
  • Teen and young adult

This year, a new Irish language category, The Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year, was added to the roster of awards which were announced at a televised ceremony in Dublin on November 27. The award was won by Diarmuid Johnson for his book, Tuatha De Danann.
See the full list of this year's winners, which includes:
  • Sally Rooney for her novel Normal People
  • Cora Staunton who won the sports category for Game Changer
  • James Kavanagh and William Murray who took the cookbook award for Currabinny Cookbook.

In addition to category winners, other special awards are announced at the annual event. These include the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises the contribution of distinguished Irish writers and poets.
This year it was presented to the renowned Irish poet Thomas Kinsella who joins past winners including Eavan Boland, Seamus Heaney and Edna O’Brien.

Voting is now open for the An Post Irish Book of the Year, which is chosen by a public vote from the list of winners. Find out about the winning books, vote for your favourite and be in with a chance to win €100 of National Book Tokens.

Irish Book Awards 2018 Full Show from Another Avenue.

Read more about the An Post Irish Book Awards or follow us on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter for regular updates:

  • Facebook: @AnPostIBAS
  • Instagram: @anpost_irishbookawards
  • Twitter: @AnPostIBAS​